Jamais Winston Continues Florida College QB History

Jamais Winston Continues Florida College QB History

When Jamais Winston, the sensational redshirt frosh of Florida State University, won the 2013 Heisman Trophy, he became the eighth football player for a Florida college to win the award. And they are all Quarterbacks. (CBS Sports photo)

Winston joins Charlie Ward (1993) and Chris Weinke (2000) as the third FSU QB to grab the Heisman. All three were two sport athletes: WInston: baseball and football; Ward: football and basketball; and Weike: football and baseball (pro). Ward never played in the NFL, but played basketball in the NBA for ten years.

Miami’s two Heismans were won by Vinny Testaverde (1986) and Gino Torretta (1992).

Florida’s three awards went to Tim Tebow (2007), Danny Wuerffel (1996), and Steve Spurrier (1966). Only Tebow (St Augustiine Nease) and Danny Wuerffel (Ft. Walton Beach HS) were Florida high school grads of the eight quarterbacks.

About floridatraveler

Historian and travel writer M. C. Bob Leonard makes the Sunshine State his home base. Besides serving as content editor for several textbook publishers and as an Emeritus college professor, he moderates the FHIC at www.floridahistory.org
This entry was posted in florida history and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Jamais Winston Continues Florida College QB History

  1. bethesdadog says:

    I guess you might say a young, traumatized former FSU woman student says Jameis will make more history, too. And the NY Times.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s